Pinarayi Vijayan is Kerala’s new Chief Minister


Left leader Pinarayi Vijayan is going to be Kerala’s next Chief Minister as LDF emerged victorious in the state Assembly polls on Thursday. The CPIM central leadership has informed senior leader VS Achuthanandan about their decision to anoint Vijayan for the top job. He will be succeeding outgoing Chief Minister Oommen Chandy.

The CPI-M secretariat and party's Kerala committee took the decision at a meeting in the presence of General Secretary Sitaram Yechury to decide the Chief Ministerial candidate, a day after the marxist party-led LDF romped home to power in the Assembly polls.

92-year CPI-M veteran V S Achuthanandan and party politburo member Pinarayi Vijayan, both of whom were elected to the Assembly, were being considered for the top slot. But the dice was loaded in favour of 72-year-old Vijayan as he is the only politburo member who has been elected to the Assembly this time. The state committee also favoured Vijayan for the top post due to his good administrative skill.

Considering the popularity and seniority of Achuthanandan who had led the LDF campaign, there were reports that the party was likely to accommodate the veteran in the government by providing him with an alternative top post.

Vijayan, who arrived here from his home constituency Pinarayi this morning, was given a rousing welcome at the railway station. Vijayan said that BJP succeeded in opening its account in the state due to Congress' support.

In the 140-member state Assembly, CPI-M-led LDF won 91 seats, UDF headed by Congress 47, BJP and Independents, one each.

Posted By: admin

Editors Pick